Skip to main content

Mi'kmaq & Indigenous Studies: Journal Articles

This guide was created for students, faculty, administrative staff, and our community members.

Contents

1) Seven EBSCO databases

The seven databases include Bibliography of Native North Americans.

2) Search terms (EBCO) for indigenous peoples and communities

Before you start using EBDCO databases, check some tips here.

3) LexisNexis Academic database

4) Other databases to find journals

Depending on what you are searching, you can also find these databases useful.

5) Primary Sources

1) Seven EBSCO databases

Start a search from here!

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Academic Search Ultimate

one of the largest databases that covers various disciplinary areas.

Education Source

covers full text for more than 2,000 journals
-- indexes and abstracts for more than 3,500 journals

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)

provides more than 1.5 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966.

GreenFILE

covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

PsycINFO

provides resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.


Notes:

When you use more than one database at the same time, you may not be able to take full advantage of features that each database offers. However, when you have not decided your topic, this way to see a comprehensive view of publications on indigenous peoples can be effective.

When you are looking for articles on repatriation of land, traditional knowledge or traditional ecological knowledge, enter these keywords as well.

Back to TOP

2) Search terms (EBSCO) for indigenous peoples and communities

You may want to know what is available before you narrow down your topic. When you use EBSCO databases, use:
"indigenous people*" OR "indigenous populations" OR aboriginal* OR indian* OR Native American* OR "North American People" OR indigenization. (See Figure 1)

These keywords allow you to retrieve articles on indigenous peoples and communities. And then check Subject: Thesaurus Term, Subject: Major Heading, or Subject on the left column to narrow down the result.

Figure 1
indigenous keywords


Notes:
When you sign in, you can save your search. Click Search History to save the record.


When you want to retrieve articles on Mi'kmaq, use:
mi'kmaq OR "Micmac language translation" OR "Micmac language" OR "Micmac Indians" (See Figure 2).

Figure 2
Search articles about Mi'kmaq

Last Updated: March 6, 2016
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

3) LexisNexis Academic database

LexisNexis Academic

You can find full text of Indigenous Law Journal, Indigenous People's Issues Today, and Indigenous Peoples Issues and Resources via LexisNexis.

If you want to limit your search effectively, follow the process below:

LexisNexis_yayo

Last Updated: February 19, 2016
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

4) Other databases to find journals

These journal article databases may or may not have articles about Mi'kmaq issues; for example, they may have articles dealing more generally in Aboriginal topics.

5) Primary Sources

Subject Guide

Yayo Umetsubo's picture
Yayo Umetsubo
Contact:
L-118B (Library) / CC214
902-563-1996
Website / Blog Page

Off-Campus Access

Please enter your username and password to see the database.

Also Check

Célánen: A Journal of Indigenous Governance

- The journal foster and promote interdisciplinary student research relating to Indigenous cultural, social, political, and economic self-determination in local and global contexts and all points between. 

- The editorial board includes scholars at the University of Victoria, Canada.