e-Resources A-Z Master List
This is a master list of e-Resources, including journal article indexes & databases, statistics & data resources, and selected websites available to students at CBU. Some resources listed are freely available to the public. The library also test-drives a number of e-Resource products; click the link to access the list of e-Resource Trials
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
A
- ABI/INFORM Global with Hoover Company ReportsABI/INFORM Global™ is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for over 3,040 publications, with more than 2,060 available in full text. It offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
- Academic Search PremierProvides full-text for scholarly journal articles, popular magazines, newspapers and other formats. Strong coverage for Arts, Sciences, and Social Sciences, but nearly all disciplines are represented.
- ACCESS ScienceThis online encyclopedia features fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition.
- ACCESS EngineeringProvides access to 300+ fully searchable engineering reference and textbooks. It features content from a broad range of McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers.
- AGRICOLAThis is the USDA's National Agricultural Library catalog; it indexes books, journals, reports in agriculture. Freely available to the public.
- Amateur Athletic Foundation ArchiveFulltext access to sport journals and sport related books. Included is a complete run of the Olympic Review, the official publication of the International Olympic Committee. Also available are Olympic Games official reports.
- American Chemical SocietyProvides fulltext access to over 35 journals and trade magazines published by the American Chemical Society, the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.
- Annual ReviewsSummarizes the primary research activities undertaken each year by an academic discipline.
- Anthropological Index OnlineSearches the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library of the British Museum of Mankind.
- AnthrosourceJournal article database maintained by the American Anthropological Association.
- Arctic Science and Technology Information System - ASTISASTIS covers all aspects of northern Canada, including earth sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology, renewable and non-renewable resources, politics and government, economic and social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, history, art and literature. Content emphasizes grey literature, including reports from government agencies, industry, First Nations, and universities. [01/12/09]
- Atlantic Canada Newspaper SurveyA database of goods and services advertised in East Coast newspapers before 1900. This database excerpts commercial advertisements listing artifacts that appeared in major newspapers in the nineteenth century.
B
- Business Source PremierBusiness journals and trade magazines; company profiles; industry reports and analyses; and country reports.
C
- CAIRNPériodiques francophones en sciences sociales et sciences humaines.
- Cambridge JournalsAccess to over 220 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects from the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)CBCA provides access to Canadian journals, magazines and news resources on all topics. Includes some full text.
- Canadian Intellectual Property OfficeThis Canadian Intellectual Property Office page includes useful information on registration of trademarks and patents as well as links to their databases.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII)Legislative and judicial legal texts and legal commentaries from federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
- Canadian Music Periodical IndexCMPI is an index of articles from Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines from late 19th Century to present.
- Canadian PatentsCanadian patent descriptions, images, documents, and decisions of the Patent Commissioner; Canadian copyright from 1991 onward; and all active trademarks.
- Canadian Public Policy CollectionThe Canadian Public Policy Collection contains almost 20,000 titles, including material published since 2006 from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
- CBCA - BusinessIncludes Canadian material from trade journals; general business magazines; academic journals; and news wires.
- CBCA - Current EventsThis collection includes Canadian titles focusing on current events. Current events is interpreted broadly to include politics, business, the arts, sports, and any other kind of news, whether happening in Canada or abroad.
- CBCA - EducationThis collection focuses on Canadian information in the field of education.
- CBCA - ReferenceThis collection provides in-depth access to a diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines.
- CCOHS - Academic Support ProgramProvides access to the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) databases, such as MSDS, CHEMINFO, OSH References, and environmental legislation from Atlantic Canada and Quebec. The Centre's mission is to be the Canadian Centre of Excellence for work-related injury and illness prevention initiatives and occupational health and safety information.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980A collection of primary documents, maps, and illustrations, along with essays and articles on the topic.
- CICA Standards and Guidance CollectionIncludes access to the CICA Handbook, the Assurance Handbook, the CICA Public Sector Handbook and other CICA publications.
- CINAHLThe Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. It is the most comprehensive resource for nursing research.
- Classical Scores LibraryThe collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. It includes reliable evidence from systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
- Conference Board of Canada E-LibraryThis is a full text report-based resource includes Conference Board research documents from 1998, also includes access to "webinars".
- Core Historical Literature of AgricultureAn electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
- CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index)Fulltext of Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers, including The Globe & Mail.
D
- Data Liberation Initiative [Info in Business Research Libguide: Demographics]An initiative of Statistics Canada and Canadian universities gives access to public use microdata files to the academic community. It includes many statistical resources that are useful in socio-economic and health research. Information on this service and more can be found in the Business Research Libguide, under "Demographic and Polling Data".
- Defining Gender, 1450-1910original source material from British and European archives [...] history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective.
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography OnlineProvides information on Canada's inhabitants and culture.
- Doing BusinessProduced by the World Bank, Doing Business provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement for 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level. Includes regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity and growth.
E
- E-StatE-STAT on the Web is a service provided by Statistics Canada. E-STAT contains CANSIM Time Series Data, Census Data from 1986. E-STAT is available to CBU users and is intended for teaching and scholarly research only. Statistics Canada also makes Public Use Microdata Files available to CBU users through the DLI.
- Early Canadiana OnlineThis is the free public version of ECO which contains many digitized documents spanning from Canada's early European settlers, to the early 20th Century. Works well as a search and discovery tool.
- eBooks Collection on EBSCOhost (formerly netLibrary)EBSCOhost's ebook collection provides access to a growing collection of electronic and books from various publishers.
- Education Research CompleteMajor resource for journal articles in education research.
- Eighteenth Century Journals, I & IINewspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815.
- Empire Online"Collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world".
- Equinox: access DLI files and moreThe Equinox server is a user-friendly means of discovering and accessing files available through the DLI.
- ERICOpen to the public, the Education Resource Information Center database consists primarily of journal articles and non-journal documents on education research and practice going back to 1966.
- EruditJournaux académiques dans les disciplines des sciences humaines, sciences sociales et sciences de la nature. Ce site contient également des journaux québécois. Some articles in English.
F
- Feminae: Medieval Women and GenderIdentifies journal articles, book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages.
- First Nations Periodical Index (to 2006)"The First Nations Periodical Index contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content" [from the website]. Appears to be current up to 2006.
- First Nations ProfilesThe First Nation Profiles is a collection of information that describes individual First Nation communities across Canada. general information on a First Nation along with more detailed information about its reserve(s), governance, federal funding, geography, registered population statistics and various Census statistics.
G
- Gale Literary IndexA searchable index to the literature series' published by Gale. Many of the Gale books are available in the Reference Section of the Library, or on the 2nd floor. Search the Index for authors or titles then search the library catalog for availability.
- globalEDGEglobalEDGE is a global business knowledge web-portal that includes a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
- Google ScholarAccess Google Scholar through this link, and you will see the "Get it @ Cape Breton U." link to full-text. You can also get a link to RefWorks for importing citations, just click 'scholar preferences' near the search bar and scroll down.
- Government Finance Statistics - IMFContains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries
- GreenFILEGreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports drawing on the connection between the environment and agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
H
- HRdownloads.comAccess to HR polices, templates, and job descriptions for use in your studies. Also includes best practice guides and PowerPoint presentations about key HR topics and interactive videos concerning HR concepts, practical approaches to HR initiatives, as well as access to HRd's Webinar Series and more.
I
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium of Political and Social Research)The Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to an extensive collection of downloadable data. All users must establish their own “MyData” account through which they download their results.
- Images Canadaprovides search access to images held on the websites of participating Canadian cultural institutions.
- IMF - Government Finance StatisticsContains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries
- Industry Canada : Resources for BusinessThis section of Industry Canada's web site contains information on companies, statistics, financing, innovation, research, science and technology, intellectual property, radio, spectrum and telecommunications, regional and rural development, regulations and standards, sustainability and environment, as well as trade and investment.
- Ingenta ConnectIngentaConnect hosts scholarly books and journals across many disciplines. While it's a powerful resource discovery tool, it does not provide all links to fulltext, meaning you could be asked to pay for a journal article you already have full access to. Always check to see if the journal is available at CBU library before paying for articles.
- International Financial Reporting StandardsIFRS Standards, EDs, Interpretations.
J
- JSTORThe go-to archival database of scholarly journals. Does not provide access to the last four or five years of journal issues.
L
- Labour SpectrumLabour Spectrum features the latest commentary from Brown and Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration, Fourth Edition, the Labour Arbitration Cases (L.A.C.) and Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries (C.L.A.S.).
M
- MAS Ultra - School EditionProvides access to professional education literature for secondary school teachers, as well as journals and magazines targeted to secondary school students.
- Mass Observation OnlineBritish Social History, 1937 - 1972. A vast collection of primary documents, photographs, and topical essays.
- MathSciNetMathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
- Medieval Sources OnlinePrimary documents from medieval resources grouped by topic.
- Medieval Travel Writing"presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period".
- MEDLINEMEDLINE provides access to millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
- Military and Government CollectionOffers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government for the United States along with some Canadian and international coverage.
- MLA - Modern Languages Association, International BibliographyLiterature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
N
- National Academies PressThe National Academies—National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council—have made over 4,000 books freely available in PDF format. Registration is required to view the full text.
- NESSTAR@StatisticsCanadaNESSTAR@StatisticsCanada is a web application designed to facilitate the process of determining what data is available through the Data Liberation Initiative.
- Newspaper SourceProvides cover-to-cover full text for 20 U.S. & international newspapers.
O
- OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
- Our Roots: Canada's Local Histories OnlineAll works on this site are previously published community-written local histories. Many of the text are pre-1900s. Search options include title, author, subject, or full text.
- Oxford English DictionaryThe accepted authority for definitions and etymology of words in English.
- Oxford JournalsJournals covering Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law.
- Oxford Reference OnlineBrings together over 100 dictionaries and subject reference works into a single cross-searchable resource.
P
- PAIS InternationalCitations and links to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, and Internet resources. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
- Past Masters...collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. The series also includes significant collections in political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics. [from the company website].
- PCensus OnlinePCensus quickly and easily provides demographic profile reports for standard geographic or mapped study areas. The data comes from the 2006 Census, current year estimates and projections, consumer spending, businesses & workplace population, and market segmentation. Use the reports to conveniently compare locations and better understand the socio-demographic factors at play in neighbourhoods, communities, provinces, and the country.
- Performance PlusPerformance Plus is an on-line performance benchmarking tool providing detailed financial and employment data on more than 600 business sectors across Canada. Includes more than 30 performance benchmarks to help small businesses determine how they measure up against their competitors.
- Periodicals Archive OnlineDatabase of digitized periodicals of general and academic interest. Strong coverage in humanities.
- Philosopher's IndexProvides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. This database covers information published in the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistempology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.
- Primary SearchProvides access to professional literature for primary school teachers, as well as magazines targeted to primary school students. [23/11/09]
- PsycARTICLESProvides full text access to scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association and several other publishers. PsycARTICLES searches over 50 psychology journals with access to articles dating back to the mid-1980s.
- PsycINFOThis database is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Content includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
- PubMed [see also MEDLINE]PubMed is a freely accessible online database of biomedical journal references created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE, a subset of PubMed, is now available. MEDLINE includes MESH headings and links to CBU's full text content. Check under "M" to link to MEDLINE.
R
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics): IdeasIdeas is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. More than 450,000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 325,000 can be downloaded in full text.
- Research Starters - EducationExcellent source of articles which summarize the current research in education topics.
- Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) JournalsFull-text chemistry journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
S
- Sage Journals OnlineScholarly journals for life science, medicine, physical science, and the social sciences. Full text access to articles published from 1999 onward.
- Science DirectProvides access to full-text journals from Elsevier Science focusing primarily on the sciences but includes disciplines such as arts and humanities, management, and the social sciences.
- SciFinder ScholarOn-campus access only.
Provides the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information available to researchers. Searches Chemical Abstracts (1907 - ). Links to fulltext. Restricted to CBU faculty and students. - ScirusThe most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. It allows researchers to search for journal content as well as scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007"documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world"
- SpringerLinkA large database with a variety of formats representing most academic disciplines. Browsable by subject.
T
- Theatre in VideoExcellent source to view performances of popular theatrical works.
- Theses Canada PortalA central access point for print and online Canadian theses.
- Tumblebook Library
NEW!!!
A large collection of e-books for school-age children. This collection includes teacher resources like games, quizzes, and lesson plans. U
- United Nations Statistical DatabaseAccess to many of the databases produced by the Statistics Division of the United Nations.
W
- WAVESWAVES is the Department of Fisheries and Ocean's library catalogue. It references published and unpublished literature relating to fisheries, aquatic sciences, and nautical sciences that is currently in the collections in the Fisheries and Oceans Canada libraries.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science contains three scholarly research tools - Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Coverage: 1989 - present.
- Wiley Online LibrarySearch across 600 journals. Strong European and British content. Does not provide the 'Try@CBU' link. If the site asks you to pay for an article, check CBU for full-text by looking up the article title in Worldcat Local, or the journal title in the journal titles list - both available from the library homepage.
- World Legal Information InstituteAlmost 1000 legal databases from more than 100 countries. The Websearch feature searches over 15,000 law-related websites.
Off-Campus Access
Most web-based resources including research databases, electronic journal collections, and electronic books are searchable from off campus. When accessing, you'll be prompted for your username and password.
Student Email Account ID
Username: Login ID (e.g. CBU10XYZ)
Password: date of birth (e.g. yymmdd)
Faculty and Staff Email
Username: firstname_lastname
Password: email password

Loading...
