This list details some of the journals and magazines available to you; it is not comprehensive.
Use Education Source, ERIC, andEducator's Reference Completefor access to periodical literature.
See: Find Articles page on the Education Subject Guide
Locating Books using Novanet and Subject Headings
Use subject headings to efficiently locate your books. Combine subject headings and keywords to focus your search. While this list isn't exhaustive, it does detail subject headings relevant to Language Arts:
English language - Grammar - Study and Teaching (Elementary)
English language -Grammar - Study and Teaching (Secondary)
Language arts (Elementary)
Language arts (Primary)
Language arts (Secondary)
Adolescent Literacy in the Academic Disciplines by Tamara L. Jetton (Editor); Cynthia Hynd Shanahan (Editor)From leading authorities in both adolescent literacy and content-area teaching, this book addresses the particular challenges of literacy learning in each of the major academic disciplines. Chapters focus on how to help students successfully engage with texts and ideas in English/literature, science, math, history, and arts classrooms. The book shows that while general strategies for reading informational texts are essential, they are not enough--students also need to learn processing strategies that are quite specific to each subject and its typical tasks or problems. Vignettes from exemplary classrooms illustrate research-based ways to build content-area knowledge while targeting essential reading and writing skills.
Call Number: LB 1631 A344 22012
Publication Date: 2012
Elementary Children's Literature by Nancy A. AndersonWritten in a personable tone, this literature methods text is filled with teaching strategies, technology applications, and discussion topics for future teachers and parents of preschool and elementary children. Organized around genres, this student-friendly text presents the basic children's literature course content. Each genre chapter contains extensive up-to-date bibliographies of books in print, including many of the new bestsellers. Each genre has a list of evaluation criteria, ideas for integrating technology with literature, and current issues to discuss. This exceptional textbook not only includes books about minorities in each chapter, but it also features a chapter written by minority literature specialists who provide many annotations of works by minority authors and illustrators. Uniquely, Elementary Children's Literature offers curriculum tie-ins, discussion topics, and technology applications, which are woven throughout the text and are also featured in literature response boxes within each chapter. Chapters open with attractive book illustrations that are discussed within a chapter devoted to the art in children's books.
Call Number: PN 1009 A1 A464 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Fresh Takes on Teaching Literary Elements: How to teach what really matters about character, setting, point of view, and theme by Jeffrey D. Wilhelm; Michael W. SmithBring new power and purpose to the study of literature with innovative tools and strategies that deepen students' understanding of literary elements and help them apply that understanding to their reading as well as their writing. Rich, original passages illuminate the intricacies of character, setting, point of view, and theme, and deeply engaging activities framed by inquiry enable students to transfer what they learn to new reading situations as well as to the way they think through problems and live their lives. For use with Grades 6 & up.
Call Number: LB 1632 S65 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts by Diane Lapp (Editor); Douglas Fisher (Editor)Now in its third edition, the Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts--sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English--offers an integrated perspective on the teaching of the English language arts and a comprehensive overview of research in the field. Prominent scholars, researchers, and professional leaders provide historical and theoretical perspectives about teaching the language arts focus on bodies of research that influence decision making within the teaching of the language arts explore the environments for language arts teaching reflect on methods and materials for instruction Reflecting important recent developments in the field, the Third Edition is restructured, updated, and includes many new contributors. More emphasis is given in this edition to the learner, multiple texts, learning, and sharing one's knowledge. A Companion Website, new for this edition, provides PowerPoint® slides highlighting the main points of each chapter.
Rebuilding the Foundation: Effective reading instruction for 21st century literacy by Timothy V. Rasinski (Editor)Teaching reading is a complex task without a simple formula for developing quality instruction. Engage in a deeper and more thoughtful conversation about what is meant by effective reading instruction for all students. Reconsider the full reading curriculum--the principles of effective instruction, student motivation, materials, developing curricula at the primary level and beyond, teaching various aspects of reading, assessment, and teacher professional development. Examine how reading instruction is conceptualized and what must be done to make it work for all students.
Call Number: LB 1573 R297 2011
Teaching Writing by Gail E. TompkinsFor undergraduate and graduate courses in elementary writing methods. Balanced writing instruction that focuses on both process and product. This best selling text by Gail Tompkins thoroughly examines genres and instructional procedures with a strong new focus on differentiating instruction to ensure success for all writing students. New chapters on the writer's craft and on writing across the curriculum offer detailed information on the six traits of good writing as well as writing in content areas, and new features provide insight into teaching English learners and using technology meaningfully in the writing classroom.
Call Number: LB 1576 T66 2012
Publication Date: 2010
Upper Elementary Reading Lessons by Marilyn J. Chambliss; Linda ValliEngaging students in worthwhile learning requires more than a knowledge of underlying principles of good teaching. It demands considerable practice as well as images of what good teaching in particular situations and for particular purposes might look like. This volume provides these images. These cases were written from authentic, unrehearsed lessons taught by upper-elementary classroom teachers to diverse groups of real students in intact classrooms. Each lesson contains elements of sound instructional practice from which both preservice and in-service teachers can benefit. Cases are not meant to be ideal, but rather to evoke ways of seeing and thinking about good classroom instruction for all learners. Accompanied by analytic commentaries from experts representing a particular perspective, such as special education and ESOL, these unrehearsed cases are written with the understanding that teaching is complex and multi-dimensional. The cases are drawn from a four-year study of 4th and 5th grade mathematics instruction of culturally diverse classrooms with relatively high rates of students from low-income families.