LibGuides: Physics: Getting Started

Why use Reference Resources?

Begin your research by consulting reference resources such as: encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. They provide definitions, background information, introductions, or overviews of topics.

This is especially useful to:

Learn about a subject that is new to you
Identify a topic for an essay
Compile some search terms when looking for journal articles

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks provides access to 800+ reputable reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) supporting most academic disciplines.
Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 300+ fully searchable engineering reference and textbooks. You will also find books from the popular Schaum Outlines series which provide sound introductory information in most scientific disciplines.

Useful Databases

ArXiv This link opens in a new window
arXiv provides free access to pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
e-prints are electronic pre-prints. ArXiv makes scientific e-prints available to all online. Most of these submissions go on to be published in scholarly journals, and are not yet peer reviewed, or have been peer reviewed and have deposited the pre-print ( unpublished version) to maintain copyright regulations.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals from Elsevier Science focusing primarily on the sciences but includes disciplines such as arts and humanities, management, and the social sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Access to Springer Nature's journals. CBU access includes 1999-2012 and starting back up in 2020.

Physics Journals

Websites

PhET- Physics simulations from the university of Colorado Boulder

Canadian Association of Physicists- Information for Students