Skip to main content

World War I: Cape Breton & Nova Scotia: Archives & Special Collections

A collection of resources dedicated to the study of Cape Breton and Nova Scotian involvement in WWI.

Contents

1) Artwork at Canadian War Museum

2) The Beaton Institute Digital Archives

3) University Libraries' Digital Collections

(photographs, newspapers, letters & correspondence, documents, manuscripts, and pamphlets)

4) Propaganda

5) Videos

1) Artwork at Canadian War Museum

Canadian War Museum

Convoy in the Bedford Basin

Convoy in the Bedford Basin by Arthur Lismer (n.d.)

A Poppy Field, France by Vivian Cummings (c. 1918)

www.warmuseum.ca/

2) The Beaton Institute Digital Archives

Visit the Beaton Institute Digital Archives at CBU to see rich collection on World War I.

You can find not only photographs, but also letters & correspondence, documents, manuscripts, and pamphlets.

Last Updated: September 25, 2015
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

3) University Libraries' Digital Collections

Canadian university libraries, for example, Memorial University digitized newspapers. For example, you can read about Cape Breton in Evening telegram (St. John's, N.L.) during World War I.

In the second example, the University of British Columbia Library exhibits digitized photos. For the direct page at UBC, visit World War I British press photograph collection.

Last Updated: September 7, 2015
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

4) Propaganda

Victory Bonds

Designed by Arthur Keelor

Printer & Publisher Unknown, 1914-1918

www.warmuseum.ca/

5) Videos