Skip to main content

Public Health (Health Studies): Find Articles

Resources for students and faculty

Scholarly Articles

Your professor has probably asked you to use scholarly or journal articles in your research. Why are they valued?

  1. Authoritative
  2. Scrutinized and reviewed prior to publication
  3. Place where new research is revealed
  4. Published more frequently than books
  5. Can direct you to more information (i.e. bibliographies)
  6. Sources for illustrative examples to support research

What to look for:

  1. Authors' affiliations (i.e. university where research took place)
  2. Often an abstract (summary) will be present
  3. Bibliography and footnotes
  4. An introduction, methodology, and conclusion
    (in the Sciences especially)

Scholarly vs. Popular

Review this table comparing scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals; it'll help you recognize both types of articles.

Research Databases and Indexes

Full Text Access

        
Look for this image within database search results; it links to available full text.

Borrowing from Other Libraries


Use Interlibrary Loan services to request items from other libraries.

Registration with the CBU Library is required.

Reading a Journal Article


Reading a scholarly article can be challenging for several reasons – not least of which is authors, experts in their fields of study, use professional language that can be overwhelming for undergraduates.

Newspaper Databases

While not scholarly, newspapers provide insights into regional perceptions of news, current awareness, and public opinion.