Skip to main content

Psychology: PSYC4101 (History)

Resources for students and faculty

Introduction

This page details some of the resources available supporting study and research in Psychology 4101 - The History of Psychology. It is not comprehensive.

Credo Reference

Credo Logo

Use Credo to find definitions, background information on your topic and general information.

Primary Resources

A Primary Resource is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. Some types of primary sources include: interview, diary creative works (i.e. painting, music, poetry), original research, autobiography, oral history, letters, manuscripts, court reports, birth certificate. In Psychology,  primary resources are original materials based on first-hand accounts of research conducted by the author(s). They are usually written at the time the research is occurring or shortly after the research is complete, and they present new information or discoveries.

  • Diary of Anne Frank - Experiences of a Jewish family during WWII
  • The Constitution of Canada - Canadian History
  • A journal article reporting NEW research or findings

Secondary sources include: radio, magazines articles, books, documentaries, bibliographies, analytical works, critical essays, reference books, textbooks.

 

Selected Journal Titles and Databases

Books

Search Novanet to locate books; examples of subject headings you can use include:

  • Piaget, Jean, 1896-1980
  • Psychology - History
  • Psychology - History - 20th century

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Websites and Primary Resources

 

Archives of the American Psychologocal Assocation   : Includes a photo archive, link to the Library of Congress collection, and more.

Cummings Center for the History of Psychology: From the University of Akron. Includes sound recordings, tests and more.

Classics in the history of psychology: Primary source reading suggestions from Christopher Green at York University.

Humanistic Psychology Archive: The Humanistic Psychology Archives (HPA) collects, organizes, preserves and makes available to researchers primary resources relating to humanistic psychology, its antecedents and its development. The Archives contain and solicits materials generated by the founders, pioneers and major individuals, organizations, centers, and institutions participating in humanistic psychology, including its historical, literary, social and artistic aspects.