ArchaeologyBiological AnthropologyLinguistic Anthropology
Zotero - Connecting Zotero to Novanet
This is the "Recommended Databases" page of the "Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology  

Use this guide as your portal to information resources, such as journal article databases and reference books, in Anthropology.
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cbu.ca/anthro Print Guide RSS Updates

Recommended Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar is a useful search engine, but it does not often offer full-text articles. Try subscription-based databases below as well.

i) EBSCO

Note: To take avantage of EBSCO's multidisciplinary/cross-disciplinary databases, check 2) How to use EBSCO databases.

Academic Search Ultimate

This database covers multidisciplinary academic journals that include various focuses in Anthropology: sociocultural, biological/physical, archaeological, and linguistic anthropology. Sociocultural areas include cross-cultural studies, ethnology, ethnohistory, anthropology & religion, anthropology & theater, art, and motion pictures, and more.

PsycINFO

This database focuses on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. You will find publications that focus on sociocultural factors, sociology, culture (anthropological), history, ethnography, cross cultural differences, and more.

MLA International Bibliography

This database provides citations and/or full-text from journal articles, books and dissertations on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Within these scopes, you will find a number of academic publications on cultural, political, philosophical, linguistic anthropology and more. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

This database includes more than 188,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles and government documents of the United States and Canada. Publications deal with topics in archaeology, anthropology, ethnohistory, anthropometry, ethnography and more.

Business Source Premier

This database includes business journals and trade magazines. When you are interested in business anthropology -- anthropological theories and methods to problem-solving activity in the private sector -- use this database. It also offers anthropological research in Finance.

EconLit with Full Text

When you are interested in the areas of Economic Sociology, Economic Anthropology, and Social and Economic Stratification, this database is for you.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

When you are interested in anthropology in terms of literature for sports and sports medicine journals, use this database.

* Some other EBSCO databases can be helpful depending on your interests. Don't limit yourself to find out more resources.

ii) ProQuest

Social Sciences

This is a gateway to the following five databases: CBCA Reference & Current Events: Social Sciences (Canadian Studies: Business, Culture, Current Events, History, and Government), CBCA Education, ebrary® e-books, Periodicals Archive Online, and Philosopher's Index. To get started, you may start a search from here while you can separately use these databases particularly when you have a specific focus.

ABI/INFORM Global

This database is a comprehensive business databases on the market. Within this scope, you can find a number of articles regarding anthropology.

Last Updated: September 9, 2015
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

Specify your search by entering anthropology and choosing SU Subject Terms (See the image below). Then enter your key concept in TX All Text, SU Subject Terms, or AB Abstract or Author-Supplied Abstract.

For this example, I used Academic Search Ultimate while you can use this technique in other databases, too. 

Academic Search Complete

There are many tips and tricks. If you want to know more, contact with your librarian!

Looking for Canadian publications? The aforementioned Bibliography of Native North Americans and CBCA Reference and Current Affairs (Canadian Business, Culture, Current Events, Literature, Language, Agriculture, History, Government, and Politics) are suitable for some of your research topics. Also try the following databases:

CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index)

CPI.Q features a wealth of Canadian and international periodicals, Canada’s national newspaper The Globe and Mail, Maclean’s weekly magazine and Canadian News Facts as well as comprehensive encyclopedic reference material.

Canadian Public Policy Collection

The Canadian Public Policy Collection contains almost 20,000 titles, including material published since 2006 from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip